Photo Gallery

 Audio Gallery

   States / Prants

 Branch PSTs


 Some Useful Articles

   BVP in the News

   States' Publications

 News from the Branches

 Website Contents 




Be a partner in development of the Nation

Bharat Vikas Parishad is striving for the development of the Nation. You can also participate in this effort  by (a) becoming a member of Bharat Vikas Parishad, (b) enrolling yourself as a “Vikas Ratna” or “Vikas Mitra”  and (c)  donating for various sewa &  sanskar projects.

Donations to Bharat Vikas Parishad are eligible for income tax exemption under section 80-G of Income Tax Act. Donations may kindly be sent by cheque / demand draft in favour of Bharat Vikas Parishad, Bharat Vikas Bhawan, BD Block, Behind Power House, Pitampura, Delhi-110034.




29. Indian Educational Institutions (contd)




(ii) Punjab University
Established at Lahore in 1882 shifted to Chandigarh in 1956 between 1947 and 1956 its administration office was located at Solan and teaching departments functioned from Hoshiyarpur, Jalandhar, Delhi and Amritsar.

(iii) Allahabad University
Established in 1887. Muir Central College founded in 1873 and affiliated to Calcutta University was turned into Allahabad University.

(iv) Mysore University
Founded in 1916 by Maharaja of Mysore. First University outside the domain of British administration and sixth in India as a whole, First in Karnatak.

(v) Benaras Hindu University
Founded in 1916 by Pt. Madan Mohan Malviya, with the assistance of Annie Besant.

(vi) Patna University
Patna College was founded in 1863 and affiliated to Calcutta University , was raised to university in 1917 and became seventh university in India.

(vii) Osmania University
Founded in 1918 by Mir Osman Ali Khan, Nizam of Hyderabad. It was first University to have Urdu as medium of instruction.

(viii) Aligarh Muslim University
Established in 1920. A college established by Sir Syed Ahmad Khan, known as Mohammedan Anglo –Oriental College in 1875, was given the status of University in 1920.

(ix) Lucknow University
The King Georges Medical College, Canning College and Isabella Thoubury College became the nucleus for Lucknow University which came into existence in 1920.

(x) SNDT Women University
Dhondo Keshav Karve established an Ashram for widows and helpless women at Hingue near Poona. In 1916, a college was started with just 5 students. It flourished to become a Women’s University in 1920 and named SNDT Women University. It was shifted to Bombay in 1936 and it has a privilege of having jurisdiction all over India.

(xi) Delhi University
Established in 1922.

(xii) AGRA University
Established in 1927. In the beginning, its jurisdiction was from Kanpur to Indore.



<<Back to Contents

                                                                                                                                         top         Home 


Copyright©  Bharat Vikas Parishad . All Rights Reserved